ACT 2018 : India and Pakistan named joint winners of the 5th Men's Hero Asian Champions Trophy
Photo Credits : AHF

India and Pakistan were declared joint winners of the Hero Asian Champions Trophy on Sunday after a thunderstorm and heavy showers forced the final to be abandoned.

The storm arrived just ahead of the title encounter.

After waiting for the storm to subside for more than an hour, it became apparent that it would not be possible to start the match on Sunday.

After a meeting between the officials of the two teams and the Technical Delegate, Brian Fernandez of Malaysia, it was decided that the two be adjudged joint winners.

In four previous editions, both holders India and Pakistan had won the title two times each.

India won the toss of coin supervised by His Highness Sayyid Taimur Asaad Tariq Al Said.

Indian captain Manpreet Singh won the toss and earned the right to take home the trophy of the biennial tournament for the first year.

It will be given to Pakistan for the next year.

The tournament gold medals were presented to the Pakistan players.

Asian Hockey Federation’s Chief Executive, Dato Tayyab Ikram said gold medals will soon be sent for the Indian players.

The following players were awarded individual recognition :

Hero Player of the Tournament: Akashdeep Singh (India)

Best Goalkeeper of the Tournament: P.R. Sreejesh (India)

Highest Scorer of the Tournament: Faisal Saari (Malaysia)

Emerging Player of the Tournament: Abu Bakkar Mahmood (Pakistan)