🏅U-22 JPAC : Canadian men's squad announced
Photo Credit : Field Hockey Canada

The Nextgen men’s pipeline has been moving players from junior to senior successfully over the past decade. No examples clearer than Jamie Wallace, Brendan Guraliuk and Fin Boothroyd.

All three eligible for the Junior Pan Ams, but were selected for the Olympic Games roster instead. Their vacancies make room for the next generation of superstars to carve their path.

The Men’s tournament features two pools with the top two finishers from each pool advancing to semifinals. Canada opens their tournament against Mexico, followed by facing the hosts, Chile and finishing the round-robin with a tilt against Brazil.

If they are successful in advancing, they will likely play against tournament favourite, Argentina, or USA in the semis.

Only the top two finishers of the tournament will advance to the Junior World Cup, scheduled for December in Guwahati, India.

Canada is looking to sweep their pool, givig themselves the best possible chance to the finals. Should they qualify, Canada will look to avenge back-to-back 16th place finishes at the JWC.

As with the women’s tournament, anyone born in 1999 or later will be eligible to compete in the Junior Pan American Cup but only those born in 2000 or later are eligible to compete in the Junior World Cup. Canada’s roster is stacked with junior vets that have long been teammates in the Nextgen development system.

The most notable shake-up from last quad’s junior national team is the emergence of the Quebec junior pipeline. Alex Bird, Nic Syrros, Chris Tardif, Flynn McCulloch and GK Zach Coombs are all heading to Chile as a part of the Junior National Team.

They are joined by 2018 Youth Olympians, Rowan Childs and Roopkanwar Dhillon with junior national team vets, Kyle Bishop, Jagpreet Singh and Sam Cabral adding leadership and experience to this team.

The coaching staff of head coach, Indy Sehmbi with assistants, Geoff Matthews and Richard Hildreth is ready for the challenge. Sehmbi is returning from his successful 2016 qualification and is looking to repeat. For both teams, it’s all about putting it together at the right time.

Canadian Men’s squad :

  • Alex Bird
  • Kyle Bishop
  • Avjot Buttar
  • Sam Cabral
  • Nic Cain
  • Rowan Childs
  • Zach Coombs
  • Sean Davis
  • Bhavdeep Dhaliwal
  • Roopkanwar Dhillon
  • Aaron Foong
  • Daniel Goodwin
  • Johnny Jacoby
  • Manveer Jhamat
  • Flynn McCulloch
  • Jagpreet Singh
  • Nicolas Syrros
  • Chris Tardif


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here