🇺🇸 USA College Hockey : Columbia University announces Silver Anniversary Team
Photo Credit : Columbia University

After a month-long public vote, Columbia field hockey is proud to announce the 12 members of its Silver Anniversary team. The group is comprised of two goalkeepers, three backs, four midfielders and three forwards.

In goal, Gena Miller ’09CC and Christie O’Hara ’13CC earned the nods. Miller was the program’s first All-American after picking up third team honors in 2007 and remains Columbia’s all-time leader in save percentage (.881) and shutouts (10). O’Hara was a four-year starter for the Lions and racked up 31 career victories with a 2.27 GAA and .748 save percentage.

The trio of Megan Davidson ’09CC, Maeve Doherty ’18CC and Lauren Skudalski ’15CC comprise the defense. Davidson was a three-time NFHCA All-Region and All-Ivy League selection, who compiled nine goals and 10 assists for 28 points. Doherty also picked up all-region and all-conference honors on three occasions and ranks in the program’s top-10 in career goals (26 – seventh), assists (24 – second) and points (76 – fifth). Skudalski is the all-time leader in defensive saves (23) and added five goals and nine assists. Additionally, she was a two-time All-Ivy League recipient.

Nikki Campbell ’02CC, Katie DeSandis ’13CC, Kelsey Farkas and Christina Freibott ’16CC were tabbed as the best all-time midfielders. A three-time All-Ivy League selection, Campbell established records with 40 goals, 16 assists and 96 points during her career and still remains in the program’s top-10 in each category. Current Lions’ head coach DeSandis was an NFHCA All-Region honoree as a senior and was chosen All-Ivy League three times. Farkas became the first player in program history to be named to the U.S. Women’s National Team in 2021 and has been named all-region and all-conference twice. The senior currently leads the squad with four goals and 12 points in 2021. Freibott was a third team NFHCA All-American and was the unanimous selection as 2014 Ivy League Offensive Player of the Year. She is Columbia’s all-time leader in points (99) and assists (45) and set the school record for points in a season with 41 as a junior.

Patrolling the front line is Christine Buszczak ’10CC, Gabby Kozlowski ’13CC and Katie Ruesterholz ’17CC. Buszczak was a four-year starter, who remains among Columbia’s all-time leader in goals (17 – 10th), assists (21 – third) and points (55 – eighth). Kozlowski was named NFHCA All-Region twice and was on the All-Ivy League first team on three occasions. She established a single-season record with 16 goals in 2010 and is second in career goals (42) and third in points (91). Ruesterholz is the program’s all-time leader in goals (44) and points (107). She was a four-time All-Ivy League recipient, including two first team selections, and earned all-region status in 2014 and 2016.

The Lions are celebrating the 25th Anniversary of the field hockey program, which have included alumnae features and spotlight some of Columbia’s top moments. The celebration will continue throughout the 2021-22 academic year. Be sure to follow @CULionsFH on social media and GoColumbiaLions.com for more updates.


Gena Miller (2005-08)
Christie O’Hara (2009-12)

Megan Davidson (2005-08)
Maeve Doherty (2014-17)
Lauren Skudalski (2011-14)

Nikki Campbell (1998-01)
Katie DeSandis (2009-12)
Kelsey Farkas (2017-Present)
Christina Freibott (2012-15)

Christine Buszczak (2006-09)
Gabby Kozlowski (2009-12)
Katie Ruesterholz (2013-16)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here