Hockeyroos Head Coach Paul Gaudoin has built a reputation as Australia’s best coach, the man who can always be relied on to get the team across the line in a tight finish.
Australia’s opponent for the FIH Olympic Qualifier is Russia. Although Russia are a much much lower ranked team, they have had some promising results against some very good teams of late.
But this is an Olympic Qualifier where the pressure runs high and Paul doesn’t want his girls to take Russia lightly.
“If we control what we can do, do it well and stick to the game plan, I believe we’ll be able to come away with some success,” said Gaudoin.
The Australia women lost their chance at a direct Olympic qualification having lost to New Zealand at the Oceania Cup 2019 earlier last month.
Speaking about the same, Paul said : “We took some learning from those qualifiers against New Zealand and now we have another opportunity to play in high pressure games.”
The last time the Hockeyroos faced Russia was at a six nations tournament in 2002.
“We’re confident. We’ve established ourselves over the last couple of years into a pretty good position globally and I back our girls to get the job done,” Paul said.
The Hockeyroos will take on Russia on 25th and 26th October 2019 at the Perth Hockey Stadium. If you cannot be there in person, watch the matches LIVE and exclusive on Kayo.
FIH 2019 Olympic Qualifying Series
Perth Hockey Stadium at Curtin University, WA
Friday 25 October 2019
Hockeyroos v Russia (3:00pm AWST, 6:00pm AEDT)
Saturday 26 October 2019
Hockeyroos v Russia (7:00pm AWST, 10:00pm AEDT)

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here