Trent Mitton
Inframe : Trent Mitton / Photo Credits : Getty Images

Hockey Australia today announces the 18-member Kookaburras team to take on Great Britain in Perth in the FIH Pro League on Saturday.

The world number two Kookaburras will face seventh-ranked Great Britain, who’ve started the FIH Pro League with two wins from two matches, from 3:30pm AWST at Perth Hockey Stadium.

The Kookaburras have made seven changes from the team which defeated Germany 4-2 in Hobart, with Daniel Beale, Tom Craig, Aaron Kleinschmidt, Trent Mitton, Josh Simmonds, Matthew Swann and Corey Weyer included.

Josh Beltz, Blake Govers, Jack Hayes, Tim Howard, Lachlan Sharp, Jack Welch and Dylan Wotherspoon make way, with the Kookaburras selectors rotating the line-up.

Kookaburras coach Colin Batch said: “We always viewed the start of the FIH Pro League was about finding out about our players and their form.

“We’re still going with that. We had six changes from the team for Melbourne to Hobart. We had a group back here training who had a good training week and a lot of them come back.”

Batch confirmed Margaret River’s Aran Zalewski would be the sole captain in his home state for the first time since officially joining Eddie Ockenden as the team’s co-captains.

“Aran will lead us in Perth,” Batch said. “It makes sense for him to lead us in his home city as Eddie did in Hobart last weekend.

“He’s joined by Tom Wickham, Jake Harvie and Trent Mitton as the four local boys.”

Saturday’s match against Great Britain will be live on but delayed on FOX SPORTS 560 from 10:30pm AEDT.

Saturday 16 February 2019 – Perth Hockey Stadium, Perth
Kookaburras v Great Britain – 3:30pm, Hockeyroos v Great Britain – 5:30pm
*All times AWST

Kookaburras 18-member team

  • Jacob Anderson
  • Daniel Beale
  • Andrew Charter
  • Tom Craig
  • Matthew Dawson
  • Johan Durst
  • Jake Harvie
  • Jeremy Hayward
  • Aaron Kleinschmidt
  • Trent Mitton
  • Eddie Ockenden
  • Flynn Ogilvie
  • Josh Simmonds
  • Matthew Swann
  • Corey Weyer
  • Jake Whetton
  • Tom Wickham
  • Aran Zalewski
What’s your Reaction?