Great Britain women’s hockey head coach has named squad for the FIH Olympic Qualifiers.
Seven Rio 2016 gold medallists have been selected for the team to take on Chile in the FIH Olympic Qualifier on 2-3 November.
Hollie Pearne-Webb – who scored the shootout winner three years ago – will captain a side that also includes Giselle Ansley, Maddie Hinch, Shona McCallin, Lily Owsley, Susannah Townsend and Laura Unsworth.
Ahead of the crucial double-header, women’s head coach Mark Hager said: “It’s an exciting and very well-balanced group.
With less than a year until Tokyo 2020, this will be the last chance for both teams to qualify for the Olympics.
“It’s helpful having the players from Rio 2016, they can talk about their experiences and what it means for this group,” Mark said.
“You could take going to the Olympics for granted but those players are very good at keeping our team grounded and making sure that everyone understands every time you put that shirt on it means something and that it’s an honour to play for your country.” said Mark.
GB Women’s Squad To Face Chile (2-3 November)
  1. Giselle Ansley (Surbiton) – ENG
  2. Amy Costello (East Grinstead) – SCO
  3. Sarah Evans (Surbiton) – ENG
  4. Sabbie Heesh (GK) (Surbiton) – ENG
  5. Maddie Hinch (GK) – ENG
  6. Tess Howard (East Grinstead) – ENG
  7. Hannah Martin (Surbiton) – ENG
  8. Shona McCallin – ENG
  9. Lizzie Neal (Loughborough Students) – ENG
  10. Lily Owsley (Hampstead & Westminster) – ENG
  11. Hollie Pearne-Webb (C) (Surbiton) – ENG
  12. Izzy Petter (Loughborough Students) – ENG
  13. Anna Toman (Wimbledon) – ENG
  14. Susannah Townsend – ENG
  15. Sarah Robertson (Hampstead & Westminster) – SCO
  16. Laura Unsworth (East Grinstead) – ENG
  17. Charlotte Watson (Dundee Wanderers) – SCO
  18. Leah Wilkinson (Holcombe) – WAL
The winner will be determined by an aggregate scoreline taken from the two games at 14:00 on Saturday 2 November and 12:00 on Sunday 3 November.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments