Australia flag

Hockey Australia has announced that Australia’s Under-21 women’s team will play in a three-nation series against New Zealand and India in Canberra in December.

The Australian Institute of Sport and Hockey ACT will support the series, which will be an important opportunity for the future generation of Hockeyroos.

The under-age series is a coup for Canberra which hasn’t hosted senior international Hockey since the Kookaburras series against Japan in March-April 2012.

The last senior international women’s Hockey played in Canberra was the Hockeyroos’ two-match Test series against Argentina in April 2011.

The series will involve six matches from Tuesday 3 December – Sunday 8 December at the National Hockey Centre.

National Women’s Junior Coach Tim White said: “We are excited to announce this three-nation series in Canberra in December.

“International competition is a crucial part of our pathway in Australia for our National Junior Squad athletes and India and New Zealand will provide excellent competition.”

The teams are expected to arrive in Canberra on Saturday 30 December ahead of the matches.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here