Photo Credits : PA Images Paul Hardinh

After ending the year with a Bronze Medal at the Odisha Men’s Hockey World League Final Bhubaneswar 2017, Indian Men’s hockey team will report for a 10-day national camp to begin on January 4 at the Sports Authority of India, Bengaluru.

With a busy hockey calendar in 2018 that features Gold Coast Commonwealth Games in April followed by the Hockey Champions Trophy Breda 2018 in July, the Asian Games Jakarta in August, Asian Champions Trophy in October and the much-awaited Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018 starting in November, Hockey India has announced 33 Men’s Players for this year’s first national camp which is a mix of young and experienced players along with new faces inducted into the Senior fold.

Goalkeeper Krishan B Pathak, part of the winning team of 2016 Junior Men’s World Cup, finds himself in the group along with Akash Anil Chikte and Suraj Karkera who had promising outing at the Men’s Asia Cup and contributed to India’s success at the Odisha Men’s Hockey World League Final Bhubaneswar 2017. They will be joined by senior compatriot PR Sreejesh who is vying to find top form after nearly eight months of injury break.

Nilam Sanjeep Xess, the young defender from Sundargarh, Odisha who led the Indian team to U-18 Asia Cup win in 2016, has been elevated to the Senior Core Group. He will train alongside stalwart Sardar Singh, Harmanpreet Singh, Amit Rohidas, Dipsan Tirkey, Varun Kumar, Rupinder Pal Singh, Birendra Lakra, Surender Kumar, Gurinder Singh in the back line.

The line-up of midfielders remains unchanged with Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh, S.K. Uthappa, Sumit, Kothajit Singh, Satbir Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Simranjeet Singh, Harjeet Singh in the group.

Young forward Sumit Kumar, who featured in the Indian Junior Men’s Team in 2016, has been included for the camp with seniors’ SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Lalit Upadhyay, Gurjant Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Armaan Qureshi, Affan Yousuf, Talwinder Singh.

India will begin the season with the Four Nations Invitational Tournament in Tauranga and Hamilton, New Zealand which will see Belgium, Japan and the hosts in fray and the ten-day national camp will lay foundation to a testing season ahead. “The camp will be short and we need to deal with the players who just played domestic matches which means we need to be careful in training considering we play eight matches in New Zealand,” expressed Chief Coach Sjoerd Marijne.

“Like always, the evaluation of the previous tournament needs to come from the players so that’s the first thing we do when we meet for this camp. I would like to understand what their experience was of the tournament and what they think needs to improve. For me, Odisha Men’s Hockey World League Final Bhubaneswar 2017 gave an insight into what is necessary to improve when we play higher ranked teams and I certainly believe we can do better in our 1 vs 1 defending. In the next tour this will be one of the key areas we would like to improve,” added the 43-year-old Dutchman.


Core Group: 


1. Akash Anil Chikte

2. Suraj Karkera

3. P.R. Sreejesh

4. Krishan B Pathak



5. Harmanpreet Singh

6. Amit Rohidas

7. Dipsan Tirkey

8. Varun Kumar

9. Rupinderpal Singh

10. Birendra Lakra

11. Surender Kumar

12. Gurinder Singh

13. Nilam Sanjeep Xess

14. Sardar Singh



15. Manpreet Singh

16. Chinglensana Singh

17. S.K. Uthappa

18. Sumit

19. Kothajit Singh

20. Satbir Singh

21. Nilakanta Sharma

22. Simranjeet Singh

23. Harjeet Singh



24. SV Sunil

25. Akashdeep Singh

26. Mandeep Singh

27. Lalit Upadhyay

28. Gurjant Singh

29. Ramandeep Singh

30. Armaan Qureshi

31. Affan Yousuf

32. Talwinder Singh

33. Sumit Kumar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here