The Netherlands, ranked No.4 in the World, arrived in India on Saturday evening for the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018.

The team has won the World Cup on three occasions [1973, 1990 ad 1998] and  were runners-up to Australia in 2014 have shown flashes of brilliance in recent competitions.

Grouped in Pool D, pegged as the ‘Pool of Death’ with heavy weights Germany, Pakistan and Malaysia, the Dutch are looking for tough matches right from the start.

“Bhubaneswar is a great place to be and play hockey in front of an amazing crowd. We are in a tough group with strong teams. We play Malaysia first and we need to make sure we keep our heads down and play our best every match,” said Max Caldas, Head Coach of the Netherlands.

The Netherlands will take on Malaysia in their first match on 1 December, before facing Germany on 5 December and finishing the group stage by playing Pakistan on 9 December.

The Netherlands men’s team for the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018:

Seve van Ass, Sander Baart, Billy Bakker, Lars Balk, Pirmin Blaak, Thierry Brinkman, Thijs van Dam, Jonas de Geus, Jeroen Hertzberger, Robbert Kemperman, Mirco Pruyser, Glenn Schuurman, Sam van der Ven, Valentin Verga, Bob de Voogd, Mink van der Weerden, Sander de Wijn and Floris Wortelboer Reserve players: Jorrit Croon, Joep de Mol