Lalit Upadhyay
Inframe : Lalit Upadhyay / Photo Credits : Getty Images

India to end a 43-year long wait when they take on mighty Netherlands in the quarterfinal of the men’s hockey World Cup, on Thursday.

The Dutch have got plenty of experience in the midfield and its strike force. It will be a real test for the Indian defence.

The India-Netherlands duel is expected to be a fast-paced, attacking encounter with both the teams heavily relying on their goal scoring abilities to come out winners.

And, if Manpreet Singh and his men get past the Dutch on Thursday, they will not only break a jinx but also rewrite history and ink their names in the one of the golden chapters of the Indian hockey.

World Rankings

Netherlands are placed fourth in the current world rankings, India are a rung below in the fifth position.

Last Meeting

The last time India and Netherlands faced each in the Champions Trophy earlier this, the match had ended in a 1-1 draw.


The over-all head-to-head record belongs to Netherlands. In the 105 games played between the two sides so far, India have won 33, lost 48 while the rest ended in draws.

India and Netherlands have faced each other nine times since 2013, winning four apiece while one game finished in a draw.

india vs Netherlands Stats


  • World Rank : 4
  • Last Appearance: 2014 (2nd)
  • Head Coach : Max Caldas
  • Goalkeepers : Pirmin Blaak/ Sam Van Der Ven
  • Most Capped Player : Jeroen Hertzberger (212)
  • Youngest Player : Jonas De Geus & Jorrit Croon (20)
  • Oldest Player : Jeroen Hertzberger (32)


  • World Rank : 5
  • Last Appearance: 2014 (9th)
  • Head Coach : Harendra Singh
  • Goalkeepers : Pr Sreejesh/ Krishan Bahadur Pathak
  • Most Capped Player : Manpreet Singh (238)
  • Youngest Player : Dilpreet Singh (19)
  • Oldest Player : Pr Sreejesh (30)


india vs Netherlands Squads

India Hockey squad: Simranjeet Singh, Mandeep Singh, Dilpreet Singh, PR Sreejesh, Krishna Bahadur Pathak, Harmanpreet Singh, Surender Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Birendra Lakra, Varun Kumar, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam, Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Sumit, Nilakanta Sharma, Hardik Singh, Akashdeep Singh and Lalit Kumar Upadhyay.

Netherlands Hockey squad: Mink van der Weerden, Joep de Mol, Floris Wortelboer, Billy Bakker, Lars Balk, Pirmin Blaak, Seve van Ass, Thierry Brinkman, Thijs van Dam, Jonas de Geus, Jeroen Hertzberger, Robbert Kemperman, Sander Baart, Mirco Pruyser, Glenn Schuurman, Sam van der Ven, Valentin Verga and Bob de Voogd.


What’s your Reaction?