Hockey World Cup 2018 : Kookaburras fly out to India in attempt to win a third straight World Cup title
Photo Credits : Hockey Australia

The world number one Kookaburras will attempt to win a third straight World Cup title in the event to played in Bhubaneswar from November 28 to December 16.

Australia are one of the favourites for the title, having won the Champions Trophy, Commonwealth Games, Oceania Cup and World League Final titles over the past 18 months.

Kookaburras coach Colin Batch said the side wasn’t feeling the pressure as reigning back-to-back champions and naturally wanted to do well but were only focused on the pool stage.

“Our first game is against Ireland. We’re not thinking too much further in advance of there. There’s a number of players who we need to get our playing level up and to provide good scouting of the teams we’ll play against,” Batch said

“The guys are really looking forward to going away to India. Our preparation has been good. We want that to continue. We know we’ve got a week or so in India before we actually play. We’ve still got quite bit to get across and improve. We’ll be ready for our first game against Ireland,” Batch said.

The Kookaburras, who are also 2010 and 2014 World Cup champions, are grouped with Ireland (ranked 10th), England (seventh) and China (17th) in Pool B.

Australia men’s team for the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018:

Andrew Charter, Tyler Lovell, Daniel Beale, Timothy Brand, Tom Craig, Matthew Dawson, Blake Govers, Jake Harvie, Jeremy Hayward, Tim Howard, Trent Mitton, Eddie Ockenden, Flynn Ogilvie, Matthew Swann, Corey Weyer, Jake Whetton, Dylan Wotherspoon, Aran Zalewski