HockeyAustralia : Hockeyroos team named for the Japan Four Nations tournament
Photo Credits : Getty Images

Hockey Australia today announces the 18-member Hockeyroos team which will compete at next month’s Four Nations Women’s Ibaraki International Tournament in Japan.

Third-ranked Australia will come up against South Korea (10th), United States (12th) and hosts Japan (14th) in the event which runs from 12-16 September at the OIC Field at the Ritsumeikan University Osaka Ibaraki Campus. South Korea have replaced Argentina, following their withdrawal from the Four Nations last week.

The event gives the Hockeyroos a taste of Japanese conditions with less than two years until the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

From the team which competed at the 2018 Women’s World Cup in London and finished fourth, there are numerous changes, including opportunities from uncapped trio Hayley Padget, Sophie Taylor and Rebecca Greiner.

Melbourne-based midfielder Padget, 25, and defender Taylor, 22, are both part of the National Development Squad, while Bundaberg forward Greiner, 19, comes from the National Junior Squad.

Blackbutt midfielder Mikaela Patterson, 21, is the other team member from outside the National Senior Squad although she debuted against Japan in Adelaide last November.

Hockeyroos coach Paul Gaudoin said: “It’s exciting to provide this opportunity to some new faces at an international level and expose the Hockeyroos to Japanese conditions within two years of the Tokyo Olympics.

On the additions from outside the National Senior Squad, Rebecca’s performance at the National Under-21 Championships and her performances in her local daily training environment has brought her to the attention of the National Selectors.

Hayley, Sophie and Mikaela had all been in Perth on Visiting Athlete Agreement scholarships prior to the World Cup and earlier in the year and performed well. That combined with their performances in their daily training environments has warranted their respective call-ups.”

Jane Claxton returns following a hamstring injury, while goalkeeper Ashlee Wells and defender Ashlea Fey are also included after missing World Cup selection.

Several senior members from the World Cup team have been omitted, with Gaudoin eager to explore his playing options.

The Hockeyroos team is due to fly to Japan on Thursday 6 September, ahead of their opening match of the Four Nations against Japan on Wednesday 12 September.

The group will also spend a day in Tokyo where they will visit the Hockey facilities for the 2020 Olympics.

Hockeyroos team for Four-Nations:
Jocelyn Bartram (Albury, NSW)
Kristina Bates (Mont Albert, VIC)
Edwina Bone (Orange, NSW) *Plays for ACT
Lily Brazel (Sydney, NSW) *Plays for VIC
Jane Claxton (Adelaide, SA)
Ashlea Fey (Sunshine Coast, QLD)
Madison Fitzpatrick (Cabarita Beach, NSW) *Plays for QLD
Savannah Fitzpatrick (Cabarita Beach, NSW) *Plays for QLD
Rebecca Greiner (Bundaberg, QLD)
Stephanie Kershaw (Townsville, QLD)
Ambrosia Malone (Burleigh, QLD)
Georgina Morgan (Armidale, NSW)
Hayley Padget (Doncaster, VIC)
Mikaela Patterson (Blackbutt, NSW)
Grace Stewart (Gerringong, NSW)
Renee Taylor (Everton Park, QLD)
Sophie Taylor (Camberwell, VIC)
Ashlee Wells (Morwell, VIC)

Match Schedule:
Wednesday 12 September 2018 5:30pm AEST – South Korea v USA
Wednesday 12 September 2018 7:30pm AEST – Japan v Australia
Thursday 13 September 2018 5:30pm AEST – Australia v South Korea
Thursday 13 September 2018 7:30pm AEST – Japan v USA
Saturday 15 September 2018 3pm AEST – Australia v USA
Saturday 15 September 2018 5pm AEST – Japan v South Korea
Sunday 16 September 2018 2:45pm AEST – Third place play-off
Sunday 16 September 2018 5pm AEST – Final