Hockeyroos arrive in Japan ahead of the Four Nations Women's Ibaraki International Tournament
Photo Credits : Getty Images

The Hockeyroos have arrived in Japan ahead of the Four Nations Women’s Ibaraki International Tournament from 12-16 September in Osaka.

Typhoon Jebi which hit Osaka earlier this week forced Hockey Australia to re-arrange travel plans with the Hockeyroos flying into Chubu Centrair International Airport in Nagoya on Friday morning.

Hockey Australia was informed conditions in Japan would improve and there was no danger for the travelling group.

The Hockeyroos had originally planned to fly into Kansai International Airport, which was closed on Wednesday after an oil tanker hit and damaged the only bridge from the airport to the mainland.

After arriving in Nagoya on Friday morning, the Hockeyroos travelled two hours by bus to Osaka before arriving at their accommodation for the Four Nations to be played at OIC Field at the Ritsumeikan University Osaka Ibaraki Campus.

Australia (ranked third in the world) will play against South Korea (10th), United States (12th) and hosts Japan (14th) in the Four Nations which runs from 12-16 September.

The event gives the Hockeyroos a taste of Japanese conditions with less than two years until the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Hockeyroos coach Paul Gaudoin along with Kookaburras coach Colin Batch and Hockey Australia High Performance director Toni Cumpston travelled to Japan last year but this is Australia’s first trip with athletes ahead of the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Gaudoin said: “There was a Development Tour go to Japan last year which was great but to take more of our senior group to Japan and start to get a feel for what it’s going to be like in two years’ time is a big goal. We want to immerse ourselves there.”

The Hockeyroos’ opening match of the Four Nations is against Japan on Wednesday 12 eptember.

Hockeyroos team for Four-Nations:
Athlete (Home town, State):

Jocelyn Bartram (Albury, NSW)
Kristina Bates (Mont Albert, VIC)
Edwina Bone (Orange, NSW) *Plays for ACT
Lily Brazel (Sydney, NSW) *Plays for VIC
Jane Claxton (Adelaide, SA)
Naomi Evans (Goulburn, NSW) *Plays for ACT
Ashlea Fey (Sunshine Coast, QLD)
Madison Fitzpatrick (Cabarita Beach, NSW) *Plays for QLD
Savannah Fitzpatrick (Cabarita Beach, NSW) *Plays for QLD
Stephanie Kershaw (Townsville, QLD)
Ambrosia Malone (Burleigh, QLD)
Georgina Morgan (Armidale, NSW)
Hayley Padget (Doncaster, VIC)
Mikaela Patterson (Blackbutt, NSW)
Grace Stewart (Gerringong, NSW)
Renee Taylor (Everton Park, QLD)
Sophie Taylor (Camberwell, VIC)
Ashlee Wells (Morwell, VIC)

Match Schedule:
Wednesday 12 September 2018 5:30pm AEST – South Korea v USA
Wednesday 12 September 2018 7:30pm AEST – Japan v Australia
Thursday 13 September 2018 5:30pm AEST – Australia v South Korea
Thursday 13 September 2018 7:30pm AEST – Japan v USA
Saturday 15 September 2018 3pm AEST – Australia v USA
Saturday 15 September 2018 5pm AEST – Japan v South Korea
Sunday 16 September 2018 2:45pm AEST – Third place play-off
Sunday 16 September 2018 5pm AEST – Final