Hockeyroos to compete in the Four Nations Women's Tournament in Japan
Photo Credits : Hockey Australia

Hockey Australia (HA) today confirms the Hockeyroos will next month compete in the Four Nations Women’s Ibaraki International Tournament in Japan.

Third-ranked Australia will come up against Argentina (fourth), United States (12th) and hosts Japan (14th) in the event which runs from 12-16 September at the OIC Field at the Ritsumeikan University Osaka Ibaraki Campus.

The Four Nations comes shortly following the Hockeyroos’ fourth-place finish at the 2018 Women’s World Cup in London which saw the side rise up two spots to third in the FIH Hero World Rankings.

The event will also give the side a taste of Japanese conditions with less than two years until the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

HA High Performance Director Toni Cumpston said: “The Four Nations Tournament is part of Hockey Australia’s agreement with the Ibaraki City, Osaka Prefecture which will also see the Kookaburras visit Japan next year ahead of the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

“Following the Hockeyroos’ fourth-place finish at the 2018 World Cup our focus for the women’s programme is on the 2020 Tokyo Olympics and the Four Nations Tournament is an important step towards that.

“It is an opportunity to acclimatise to Japan and expose our athletes to the conditions we’ll face in Tokyo.

“We’re thankful and appreciative of the Ibaraki City and Japan Hockey Association’s support and we’re looking forward to developing the relationship as we build up towards Tokyo.”

The Hockeyroos team to play at the Four Nations will be announced on Monday 27 August.

The Japan Hockey Association will live stream each game online for free, with link details to be shared closer to the first match.

Match Schedule:

Wednesday 12 September 2018 5:30pm AEST – Argentina v USA
Wednesday 12 September 2018 7:30pm AEST – Japan v Australia
Thursday 13 September 2018 5:30pm AEST – Australia v Argentina
Thursday 13 September 2018 7:30pm AEST – Japan v USA
Saturday 15 September 2018 3pm AEST – Australia v USA
Saturday 15 September 2018 5pm AEST – Japan v Argentina
Sunday 16 September 2018 2:45pm AEST – Third place play-off
Sunday 16 September 2018 5pm AEST – Final