India : Hockey India announces India U18 Men’s & Women’s Hockey Teams for the Youth Olympic Games
Photo Credits : Hockey India

Hockey India today announced the Indian U18 Men’s and Women’s Hockey Teams for the Hockey 5′s competition to be held at the Buenos Aires 2018 Youth Olympic Games from 6th – 18th October, 2018. Both the teams will have a total of 9 members in the squad, which consists of two Goalkeepers, two Defenders, two Midfielders and three Forwards.

The Men’s team will be led by their Midfielder Vivek Sagar Prasad, while Goalkeeper Prashant Kumar Chauhan will act as his deputy. Whereas, the Captaincy of the Women’s team has been given to Defender Salima Tete, with Forward Lalremsiami being the Vice-Captain.

Both the teams have been chosen keeping in mind the requirements of the fast-paced 5-a-side competition and consist of players who have recently gained international exposure as they participated in the Junior Invitational Tournament in Belgium last month.

The Junior Men’s team consists of Goalkeepers Prashant Kumar Chauhan and Pawan, Defenders Rabichandra Singh Moirangthem and Sanjay, Midfielders Vivek Sagar Prasad and Maninder Singh, and Forwards Shivam Anand, Rahul Kumar Rajbhar and Sudeep Chirmako.

Goalkeepers Bichu Devi Kharibam and Khushboo will be guarding the Junior Women’s team’s goal while IshikaChaudhary and Salima Tete will support in defense. The midfield will be commanded by Reet and Chetna while Sangita Kumari, Mumtaz Khan and Lalremsiami will lead the attack.

A total of 12 women’s and 12 men’s teams will be participating in the Buenos Aires 2018 Youth Olympic Games Hockey 5′s events taking place between 7th and 14th October at Youth Olympic Park.

In the Men’s category, the Indian team will face stiff competition from 2014 Youth Olympic Gold Medallists Australia and Silver Medallists Canada along with hosts Argentina, Austria, Bangladesh, Poland, Mexico, Malaysia, Kenya, Zambia and Vanuatu. Whereas the Women’s team will have their task cut-out as 2014 Youth Olympic Gold Medallists China, hosts Argentina, Austria, Poland, Uruguay, Mexico, Australia, Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe and Vanuatu will be the other 11 teams giving them competition.

Wishing the athletes, Mr. Rajinder Singh, President, Hockey India said, “We are proud of our U18 Men’s and Women’s teams for having qualified for the Youth Olympic Games for the first time after not having participated in the first two editions in 2010 and 2014.

All athletes have been preparing well for the showcase event that will take place in Buenos Aires in October and I believe that both teams very well equipped in all departments to be able to finish on the podium for the country. I would like to congratulate the team for earning this opportunity and would like to wish them the very best for a highly anticipated Hockey 5′s competition at the Buenos Aires 2018 Youth Olympic Games.”


Indian U18 Men’s Team:


  1. Prashant Kumar Chauhan (Vice Captain)
  2. Pawan


  1. Rabichandra Singh Moirangthem
  2. Sanjay


  1. Vivek Sagar Prasad (Captain)
  2. Maninder Singh


  1. Shivam Anand
  2. Rahul Kumar Rajbhar
  3. Sudeep Chirmako


Indian U18Women’s Team:


  1. Bichu Devi Kharibam
  2. Khushboo


  1. Ishika Chaudhary
  2. Salima Tete (Captain)


  1. Reet
  2. Chetna


  1. Sangita Kumari
  2. Mumtaz Khan
  3. Lalremsiami (Vice Captain)