For every generation of Indian sports fans since the 1970s, playing hockey with Australia invariably meant losing to Australia.

After a resolute display from the Men in Blue registering their 1st win of the 26th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2017 against New Zealand by 3-0, India would like to continue the winning streak against the world champions Australia.

Some Stats:

Zone Best performance
Oceania 9 titles, won by Australia and New Zealand (2)
Asia 9 titles, won by the India (4), Pakistan (3), South Korea (1) and (1) shared between India & South Korea
Europe 4 titles, won by Germany (2), Great Britain (1) and Netherlands (1)
Americas 1 title, won by Argentina
Africa None

Both India and Australia stands equal in the points table with fours points each in their two matches. It’s the match of the tournament today at the Sultan Azlan Shah Stadium. This will be more like a dress rehersal for the final when India take on Australia.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here