(FIH) President Dr Narinder Dhruv Batra
(FIH) President Dr Narinder Dhruv Batra
International Hockey Federation (FIH) President Dr Narinder Dhruv Batra has been nominated for International Olympic Committee (IOC) membership, by the IOC Executive Board.
Along with Dr. Batra, 9 other members have been nominated for the membership.
Seven of the 10 proposed new Members are Individual Members, while there are three candidatures linked to a function within a National Olympic Committee (NOC) or a Continental Association of NOCs.
Four women and three men make up the group of seven candidates for individual membership, while the candidates linked to a function within an NOC or a Continental Association of NOCs are three men, chosen in close consultation with the Association of National Olympic Committees (ANOC).
In line with Olympic Agenda 2020, the candidates were selected by the IOC Members Election Commission, chaired by HRH The Princess Royal, taking into consideration several criteria: their expertise in different domains (including medical, sociological, cultural, political, business, legal and sports management expertise), in addition to geographic and gender balance.
Dr Batra is one of few sports administrators who hold the position of International sports federation and National Olympic Committee Presidency at the same time.
The seven proposed Individual Members are:
Ntsama Assembe Celestine Odette Epse Engoulou
(Female, 25.09.1970, Cameroon)
Spyros Capralos
(Male, 15.04.1955, Greece)
Laura Chinchilla
(Female, 28.03.1959, Costa Rica)
Matlohang Moiloa-Ramoqopo
(Female, 01.11.1967, Lesotho)
Filomena Maria Spencer Africano Fortes
(Female, 10.04.1966, Cape Verde)
Tidjane Thiam
(Male, 29.07.1962, Côte d’Ivoire)
Erick Thohir
(Male, 30.05.1970, Indonesia)
The three proposed Members whose candidatures are linked to a function within an NOC or a Continental Association of NOCs are:
Narinder Dhruv Batra
(Male, 19.04.1957, India, President of the Indian Olympic Association)
Mustapha Berraf
(Male, 21.02.1954, Algeria, President of ANOCA)
Kee Heung Lee
(Male, 03.01.1955, Republic of Korea, President of the Korean Sport & Olympic Committee)
The 134th IOC Session that will be responsible for their election is scheduled to take place from 24 to 26 June 2019 in Lausanne, Switzerland.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here