Irish Women’s Head Coach, Sean Dancer, has announced the squad which has been selected for the upcoming Olympic qualifier in Energia Park on the 2nd and 3rd of November against Canada.
The team confirmed their place in the Olympic qualifier last June in their FIH Series Finals outing in Banbridge which saw the team reach the final of the tournament, narrowly missing out on the overall win to Korea.
After a busy period of training and practice matches, following a positive Euro Hockey Championships in Antwerp last August, the squad are good form heading into their final week of preparations leading into their home Olympic qualifiers.
Speaking on the selection, Head Coach Sean Dancer said “I’m very happy with the squad we’ve chosen to represent Ireland in this Olympic qualifier. 
Canada are a good side, when you get to this level everyone is, you can’t underestimate any team you come up against. We’ve been working hard the past few months and I’m confident in this team’s ability to be successful.” 
The squad is as follows:
  • 1 Ayeisha McFerran
  • 2 Roisin Upton
  • 3 Nikki Evans
  • 4 Kathryn Mullan (C)
  • 5 Shirley McCay
  • 6 Elena Tice
  • 7 Gillian Pinder
  • 8 Beth Barr
  • 9 Serena Barr
  • 10 Chloe Watkins
  • 11 Lizzie Colvin
  • 12 Nicola Daly
  • 13 Hannah Matthews
  • 14 Sarah Hawkshaw
  • 15 Anna O’Flanagan (VC)
  • 16 Zoe Wilson
  • 17 Deirdre Duke
  • 18 Elizabeth Murphy
The Irish Women’s Olympic qualifier matches will take place on the 2nd and 3rd of November in Energia Park, Donnybrook. The winner on goal aggregate will seal their spot for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. These matches mark the only Olympic qualifier, for any sport, in Ireland this year.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments