Elections for members of the Hockey Confederation Committee of Malaysia (KHM) 2019-2023 at the 66th Annual General Meeting (AGM) to be held on November 16th saw no contest for the office of President after a full list of nominations was announced.
In accordance with the rules set out in the KHM expansion, all KHM members will need to submit their list of nominations before the closing date, which is November 2, where three nominations are required to qualify for a presidential candidate.
Only two names were nominated by a joint presidential nominee, Dato ‘Sri Subahan Kamal receiving the highest of 13 nominations while Datuk Kamarudin Meranun did not meet the criteria after receiving two nominations.
The situation at the same time saw Dato ‘Sri Subahan have no challengers for the position and was categorized as winning without a contest.
Meanwhile, the post of deputy president saw three nominees led by KDYMM Acting King of Pahang, Tengku Hassanal Crown Prince Dato ‘Sri Megat D. Shahriman Dato’ Zaharudin and Jadadish Chandra Bipin Chandra.
Prof. Dato ‘Dr Shamala Subramaniam, who received 13 nominations, will face a one-on-one challenge from Maheswari Kanniah who has won two nominations for the deputy president’s post.
The vice-presidential seat saw 22 nominations announced to win 7 seats in the men’s and women’s categories with the full announcement made by Jadadish Chandra as the Chairman of the KHM Legal Committee with the acting Chief Executive Officer / General Manager, Ms Norfaraha Hashim.
“I hope all candidates will be able to respect each other throughout this period until the AGM on November 16. The KHM will also have an observer in the voting process to ensure that it runs smoothly and transparently, ”Jadadish explained.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here