Photo Credits : MHC

The Terengganu Hockey Team (THT) seized the TNB 2019 title after defeating University of Kuala Lumpur (UniKL) 2-1 in the final at the Hoki Tun Razak Stadium in Kuala Lumpur.

The last time the THT won the TNB Cup title was in 2017 defeating the Kuala Lumpur Hockey Club (KLHC) 5-4 after a 4-4 tie.

Their return to victory was sweeter when goalkeeper Mohamad Hazrul Faiz Ahmad Sobri was named best player of the match and their import players, Jang Jonghyun emerged as the top scorers of TNB League Hockey League Malaysia and the TNB Cup with 22 goals.

The Terengganu Hockey Team’s coach, Vikneswaran could not hide the joy as his team was only fully-formed one week before the 2019 campaign started made it successfully to emerge as the overall champion for the 2019 season.

Vikneswaran also adds to the factors that players play in the final stage for the first time also being the cause they started the game slowly because of the pressure felt by the average player who did not have the experience made them afraid to make mistakes while in the game.

“The start of our team game was quite unsatisfactory because maybe because of the first factor in the stage compared to UniKL’s troops who are defending champions and lined up average players are seasoned.

“The pressure in the final is quite different and the pressure is also causing players who have never played in the final scared to make a mistake but it can be overcome in the second and third quarter but unfortunately we missed one goal.

“This victory is also important for us because this year the THT is under new management and the team is formed a full week before the 2019 rally begins the additional condition of the team is also less than the other teams as we are lined up by various players who do not know the Terengganu culture .

“But what’s important after going through various situations and hardships we managed to handle it and we played in the final and managed to beat UniKL 2-1 in the final stage,” he explained.

THT opened the net in the 25th minute through Jang Jonghyun who scored his 22th goal throughout the season with a penalty corner shot and the second goal of the THT came in the 40th minute with another corner corner penalty shot this time was completed by another player import South Korea, Jung Manjae.

UniKL managed to bridge the gap in the 44th minute when they were beaten by Muhammad Razie Abd Rahim and 2-1 at the end of the match and lifted the THT as the overall champion of the 2019 season.

Earlier, there was a clash between Tenaga Nasional Berhad (TNB) and Maybank for third and fourth place finishes that saw TNB emerging third place winner after scoring their opponents 7-2.


TNB Malaysia Hockey League 2019 : 

Champion :  Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL)

First Runner Up : Tenaga Nasional Berhad (TNB)

Second Runner Up : Terengganu Hockey Team (THT)

TNB CUP 2019 : 

Champion : Terengganu Hockey Team (THT)

First Runner Up : Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL)

Second Runner Up : Tenaga Nasional Berhad (TNB)

Fairplay : Universiti Teknologi Mara (UITM)

Man of the Match (Finals) : Mohamad Hazrul Faiz Ahmad Sobri (THT)

Top Scorer : Jang Jonghyun (THT) – 22 goals


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here