Malaysia : MHC announces their 18 member Men's Hockey Team for the Darwin International tournament
Photo Credits : Getty Images

Malaysia will be without six regulars for the Darwin International, which starts on Tuesday, at the Marrara Hockey Stadium in Australia.

Other teams in the fray are World No 1 Australia, second-ranked Argentina and Asian Games champions Japan.

National captain Sukri Mutalib, goalkeeper S. Kumar, Faizal Saari, Marhan Jalil, Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin and Nabil Fiqri have not been included.

Their replacements are goalkeeper Hafizuddin Othman, Najib Hassan, Ashran Hamsani, Ramadan Rosli, Haziq Samsul and Norsyafiq Sumantri.

National coach Stephen van Huizen has also opted out as he has to attend a personal matter.

Former international Amin Rahim will be the acting chief coach, assisted by Nasihin Nubli and technical director Terry Walsh.

Amin is honoured to be given the chance to coach the team for the assignment.

“The six regulars were left out because some are carrying injuries, while others need to freshen up for the upcoming Asian Champions Trophy in Oman and the World Cup.

The tournament will be a good chance for the fringe players to shine as we need options for the national team,” said Amin.

The squad :

Hairi Rahman

Hafizuddin Othman

Razie Rahim (Captain)

Syed Syafiq Cholan

Azri Hassan

Faiz Helmi Jali

Najib Abu Hassan

Meor Azuan Hassan

Fitri Saari

Joel Samuel Van Huizen

Ashran Hamsani

Amirol Aideed Arshad

Nik Aiman Nik Rozemi

Ramadan Rosli

Firhan Ashari

Shahril Saabah

Haziq Samsul

Norsyafiq Sumantri