🇦🇺 Hockey Australia : New Hockey Australia Masters Committee structure becomes reality

An exciting new structure for Masters Hockey in Australia to provide more effective governance is in its final stages of implementation.

Following findings from a review earlier this year into the management of Masters Hockey, it revealed a host of changes that would positively impact this popular and engaged group and demographic.

HA has actioned many of these recommendations, most notably that Masters Hockey will now be governed by a strategic group known as the HA Masters Committee (HAMC).

The HAMC consists of nine people who will be responsible for overall direction, planning and policy implementation and development.

This committee will be supported by two distinct Operational Groups (Men’s and Women’s) that will be responsible for the day to day running of the Masters program.

“The Masters community is among the most engaged and passionate in our hockey family,” said HA Acting CEO, Michael Johnston.

“This new structure will serve the entire Masters community and we are excited to be supporting the HAMC in providing an even better hockey experience.”

A Transitional Working Group was set up to work through the recommendations and plan the steps required to transition to the new structure.

“The Transitional Working Group has worked diligently and cooperatively to progress the implementation of the Masters Hockey review in a timely way,” said HA Board member and Transition Working Group Chair, Pat Hall.

“I sincerely thank the two outgoing HAMC co-chairs, Sue Briggs and Norman Same, for their efforts and also the valuable support from Hockey Australia to complete this first step in a collegiate manner.”

The appointment to positions on the HAMC have now been finalised in line with the HAMC Term of Reference.

Sue Briggs, a well-respected and long time Masters advocate and administrator, was appointed as Chairperson of the HAMC.

Other appointments included:

  • Kirsty Hunter (Treasurer)
  • Dean Lomax (Engagement and Communications)
  • Michael Young (Member Association Representative – Men)
  • Sharon Williams (Member Association Representative – Women)

Two additional positions representing the Operational Groups will be added to the HAMC in the future.

“I am really excited to be appointed as Chairperson of this committee,” said Briggs.

“This will be a transformational period built on a revamped structure that aims to better facilitate engagement with the Masters community now and into the future.

“The recent appointments to positions on the HAMC reflect experience and diversity and an opportunity to refresh the approach to the Masters program.

“I look forward to working with members of the committee to achieve a positive impact for Masters Hockey in Australia and help it go from strength to strength.”

The next phase to complete the new structure is setting up the Operational Groups, one group for Women and one for Men (see the HA Operational Groups Terms of Reference).

These are skills-based appointments of up to eight positions and will be made following an expression of interest process.

Nomination Forms for the Operational Group Men and Operational Group Women can be found here. The closing date for nominations is COB Friday 17 September 2021.

If you prefer to discuss the roles and responsibilities of the Operational Groups, please do not hesitate to contact Sue Briggs, Chairperson HAMC.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here