New Zealand : Black Sticks Men and Women's 2019 national squads announced
Photo Credits : Getty Images

The Vantage Black Sticks Men and Women have announced their squads for the upcoming 2019 season.

Both squads saw tremendous success in 2018 with the New Zealand Women’s Hockey Team bringing home their first ever gold medal at the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

The New Zealand Men’s Hockey team who are currently preparing for the 2018 Odisha World Cup brought home silver medals from the 2018 Commonwealth Games.  

The 2019 season sees the inaugural FIH Pro League competition where both our Vantage Black Sticks teams will come up against the best sides in the world.

The competition sees our Vantage Black Sticks take on the men and women from the Netherlands, Belgium, Great Britain, Germany, Argentina, Australia as well as the Pakistan and Spain men’s teams and the China and USA women’s teams in home and away fixtures. 

The Men’s squad features a wealth of experience with Shea McAleese (272 Caps) and Arun Panchia (253) leading the way as the most capped players in the national squad. 

The Women’s squad features several proven international performers with Stacey Michelsen (261) and Sam Charlton (226) leading the way as the squads most capped players.

There are 3 uncapped players in the side including 17 year old stand out player Olivia Shannon.

This caps off a remarkable year for her where she has won the Vantage National Under 18 tournament, Aon Federation Cup and was in the runner up Central Mysticks at the Ford NHL where she was named tournament MVP.  

The announcement of the National squad also brings in a new Memorandum of Understanding with the Hockey Players Association which is an exciting development for hockey in New Zealand.

The introduction of the FIH Pro League is fast tracking hockey toward towards semi-professionalism.  

Vantage Black Sticks Men’s National Squad : 

  1. George Enersen
  2. Richard Joyce
  3. Devon Manchester
  4. Shea McAleese
  5. Dane Lett
  6. Blair Tarrant
  7. Cory Bennett
  8. Brad Read
  9. David Brydon
  10. Kane Russell
  11. Arun Panchia
  12. Nic Woods
  13. Aidan Sarikaya
  14. Marcus Child
  15. Harry Miskimmin
  16. Hayden Phillips
  17. Mac Wilcox
  18. Hugo Inglis
  19. George Muir
  20. Dominic Newman
  21. Sam Lane
  22. Stephen Jenness
  23. Jared Panchia
  24. Dylan Thomas
  25. Nick Ross

Vantage Black Sticks Women’s National Squad : 

  1. Leah Butt
  2. Sam Charlton
  3. Tarryn Davey
  4. Frances Davies
  5. Steph Dickins
  6. Madison Doar
  7. Shiloh Gloyn
  8. Ella Gunson
  9. Megan Hull
  10. Kate Ivory
  11. Alia Jaques
  12. Tessa Jopp
  13. Rose Keddell
  14. Olivia Merry
  15. Stacey Michelsen
  16. Brooke Neal
  17. Grace O’Hanlon
  18. Kirsten Pearce
  19. Brooke Roberts
  20. Deanna Ritchie
  21. Sally Rutherford
  22. Olivia Shannon
  23. Kelsey Smith
  24. Liz Thompson
  25. Lulu Tuilotolava

The Vantage Black Sticks Women are next in action in January when the Netherlands reach our shores for the start of theinaugural FIH Pro League.

Our Vantage Black Sticks Men will be starting their Odisha Hockey World Cup on November 30 when they take on France.