South Africa Hockey : Women's team to take on Namibia in three match test series
Photo Credits : SA Hockey

The South African Hockey Association have today announced the South African Women’s Hockey Squad. This squad will be the first under coach Robin van Ginkel and will be used to select the final tournament squads for the FIH Open Series Final in Valencia in June.

With Tokyo 2020 having just passed the 500 days away threshold, the excitement for the various qualification tournaments is palpable. South Africa will head to Valencia with the objective of finishing in the top 2.

The African champions will take on Italy, Wales and Thailand in Pool B of the Valencia tournament, with hosts Spain partnered in Pool A with Belarus, Canada and Namibia.

The 26-player team announced features an exciting blend of new players with Robyn Johnson, Sandi Tabata, Ashleigh Datnow, Nikki Veto, Stephanie Botha, Casey-Jean Botha, Bianca Wood, Hannah Pearse and Tegan Fourie all looking to earn their first caps for the country.

Alongside the new faces is also a blend of great experience with Lisa Deetlefs, Erin Hunter, Nicole Walraven, Quanita Bobbs, Phumi Mbande and Tarryn Glasby among the players that van Ginkel will look to blend the newcomers to International hockey into the team.

“I am really excited to take my first team to Spain and look to do well in the FIH Hockey Series Final. The team selected has a good core of experienced players that will help blend the new names into the team and into International hockey. I am really looking forward to the start of our four-year process and the success we can bring to South African Hockey!”

South African Women’s Hockey Squad

No Player Province Caps
1 Stephanie Baxter North West 23
2 Quanita Bobbs Western Province 114
3 Kara Botes Southern Gauteng 41
4 Casey Jean Botha SA U21 0
5 Stephanie Botha SA U21 0
6 Dirkie Chamberlain North West 225
7 Ashleigh Datnow Southern Gauteng 0
8 Lisa Deetlefs Southern Gauteng 250
9 Lilian du Plessis Southern Gauteng 119
10 Celia Evans Northern Blues 145
11 Tegan Fourie SA U21 0
12 Tarryn Glasby Western Province 30
13 Erin Hunter Southern Gauteng 41
14 Robyn Johnson Southern Gauteng 0
15 Nicole la Fleur (GK) Western Province 19
16 Ongi Mali SA U21 10
17 Marizen Marais Northern Blues 14
18 Phumi Mbande (GK) Northern Blues 35
19 Mmathshepo Modipane (GK) Southern Gauteng 5
20 Kristen Paton Southern Gauteng 15
21 Hannah Pearce SA U21 0
22 Sandi Tabata SA U21 0
23 Izelle Verster Northern Blues 7
24 Nikki Veto SA U21 0
25 Nicole Walraven Free State 45
26 Bianca Wood SA U21 0


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here