Photo Credits : Getty Images

The South African Women’s Hockey Team, proudly sponsored by Supergroup, will be taking part in the FIH Hockey Series Final in Valencia from the 19-27 June.

The tournament, featuring 8 sides including hosts Spain, has two spots up for grabs in the Olympic Qualifying matches to be played later this year.

The South Africans have been sorted into pool B alongside Wales, Thailand and Italy.

The top team in each pool progresses directly to the Semi-Finals while the 2nd and 3rd placed teams play a cross pool qualifier first.

The South African challenge will be led by new captain Erin Hunter, who is appointed for the first time to lead the country.

The vice-captain has been appointed as Phumelela Mbande, her first outing for the country since her player of the match performance against Argentina at the Hockey World Cup.

Hunter and Mbande were both part of that World Cup squad and are joined from that squad by Kristen Paton, Kara Botes, Dirkie Chamberlain, Lisa Deetlefs, Lilian du Plessis, Quanita Bobbs and Tarryn Glasby.

There is also a recall for Celia Evans, the 2016 SA Hockey Player of the Year, after missing the showpiece event with a knee injury.

Bianca Woods, Hannah Pearce and Sandi Tabata will all be given the opportunity to earn their first caps for the country after impressing for the South African Under 21 side recently, while Indoor national player Robyn Johnson also will get an opportunity to wear the green and gold for the first time with the outdoor side.


South African Women’s Hockey Squad

No Player Province Caps
1 Erin Hunter (captain) Southern Gauteng 41
2 Phumi Mbande (Vice-captain) (GK) Northern Blues 35
3 Stephanie Baxter North West 23
4 Quanita Bobbs Western Province 114
5 Kara Botes Southern Gauteng 41
6 Dirkie Chamberlain North West 225
7 Lisa Deetlefs Southern Gauteng 250
8 Lilian du Plessis Southern Gauteng 119
9 Celia Evans Northern Blues 145
10 Tarryn Glasby Western Province 30
11 Robyn Johnson Southern Gauteng 0
12 Marizen Marais Northern Blues 14
13 Mmathshepo Modipane (GK) Southern Gauteng 5
14 Kristen Paton Southern Gauteng 15
15 Hannah Pearce SA U21 0
16 Sandi Tabata SA U21 0
17 Izelle Verster Northern Blues 7
18 Bianca Wood SA U21 0
What’s your Reaction?
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments